Monday, June 25, 2012

Fidelity

 Dearest Nia Milbah,

I love Regina. Another song was originally playing when I started this post but Regina Spektor trumps everything.

Notes:

1. Congrats on the phone! I'm jealous, of course. Add me back on instagram @ilew1029 you're really fast.
2. I'm trying to be better with my camera-- proof below.
3. I have a mid-term tomorrow. Blech.
4. Use paragraphs to start new thoughts/aid the reader in following your train of thought; paragraphs are your friend. Also, make your pictures bigger :) I did it myself... don't make me come after your gigantic paragraphs next.
5. I LOVE YOU and miss you, a lot a lot.
6. It seems like everyone here is coupling up. See below. Those are two of my friends. I don't think they saw me do this but I am hoping they get together this summer. They'd be cute. Maybe I'll be next? Doubtful, no prospects thus far. Nevertheless, I love playing cupid and will have a grand time orchestrating this romance. Those are the hands of my gay husband, Zach. I can always find a gay bestie.

I took this from outside, kneeling on a chair and they still didn't notice us.

7. Off to bed with me, work in the AM :)
8. I like this blogging thing. 

Slobbery Smooches & Too Tight Hugs,

imani ~ O3:>

Sunday, June 24, 2012

Brah Brah

Imani bani salami, fe-fi-pastrami orgami fo mahi mahi, IMAAAAANNNNNNIIIIII.....cute, huh? Thought of it all by myself! :o)


Soooooooooooo I was just telling Mommy how LAME/ratchet Plies is cause she asked if a lot of my friends were going to see him at Club 46 -_- And his song just happened to be the one that played when I shuffled my iTunes. Smh. Anyway, I'm so so so so so so so so sooooooo glad you finally blogged back! Partly because I wanted to be filled in on all your stuff and partly because I wanted to fill you in on my exciting news! But before I do so, let me respond to your somewhat hellacious week! As I was reading from Monday-Friday I found myself thinking hmmm this is quite like my week. So maybe I'm not making copies and eating cupcakes from cool cupcake trucks, but those girls at Kids Camp really did me in! Not to mention we had practice after a two hour lunch break on Mon. Tues. & Wed. & those practices were noooo joke. Especially after dealing with a buncha little rugrats with attitudes just as bad as mine! I got through it, but by Thursday I was worn out and come to think of it, we did feast on cupcakes...homemade by the other coach, Mrs. Herman. They were for Mrs. Altman's birthday! We had a surprise mini-party after the campers went home. We're done with cheerleading for the Summer. That's a yay! and a boo! for me cause I'll miss the girls, but we'll reunite as soon as school starts back in a little over a month! But we won't talk about that right now! I cut juice out of my diet except for a small glass here and there; you'd be proud we don't have ANY drinks besides water and milk in the house right now. I actually feel a lot better. I have to pee a lot....anywho, things have been pretty chill around here. I'm so glad that through all of the insanity of your week you managed to get past it all! Gospel music will work EVERY time. I love it. I'm still kinda stuck on the cupcake truck thing....That gives Howard about 50 bonus points. Have you been to or seen the campus? Gosh I'm just itching to get up that way so I can see everything. BTW STOP FORGETTING YOUR CAMERA >:( That sushi looks DELICIOSO though. You knowwww I'm not a walker. I'm not a fan, people say I walk too slow then when I walk fast I feel like a complete dork, but I feel like if I was walking in DC, I'd fit right in. Every one of your post makes me wanna go even more. Thinking back to my QUEST trip there, we did a good bit of walking, but everything was so interesting and fun, it didn't even phase me. Well you look cute in your little 'hey I'm in front of the White house picture!' I'm jealous. I wanna walk the same halls as Barack Obama *insert pouty face here* Okay I can't hold it in ANY longer! Exciting news is coming to you right NOW:


BAM! New phone!!! On a scale of one to ten I'm definitely over-the-top-this-can't-be-safe-how-excited-I-am-dangerously-excited Excited. I seriously do not know what to do with myself. Finally a not crappy phone!! So many capabilities and things I was missing out on! I swear I could've tackled that FedEx guy when he brought it to me. You know how I have a REALLY delayed reaction? Wellll not this time! I bet that FedEx guy had never seen anybody answer the door so fast in his life! I bet I scared him cause I was so excited/smiley. Htc Rezound. AMAZING phone. Came with Beats. Really awesome. Don't know how else to describe it. I love it. I really do. I was NOT expecting to be able to get this phone but it went on sale on the Verizon website and Mommy gave me the go-ahead so here we are. I can't wait to use more of the features. I have an Instagram now! Follow me @_missnewcutie <<< cute name, right? It'll do for now. Ummm the beats are freaking amazing. They're not as great as the over the head ones, but with me and my ear probs, these are EASILY the best in ear headphones I've ever used. Very comfortable and amazing sound quality. It sounds like angels are singing every song I listen to themselves. 
 Closer look.....forgot my Bible at home this morning. Darnit! Oh wait, there's an App for that :D Sorry, you already know all of these things since being teamsmartphone is nothing new to you, but I'm still basking in it! I'm really just blown away by all of the features...and I'm sure there are some I have yet to discover!
Finally got something done to my hair! Praise God cause I was lookin REAL rough...I mean the I'm-about-to-go-into-hiding rough. Got me some Micros, a new phone, and now I'm ready for Myrtle Beach on Wednesday with Ken, Sid, and Ri. Not to brag or anything, but I am HOT STUFF. Justtttt kidding.....or am I? Ummm my forehead looks really large, but hey, that's alright. Got my senior pictures in the mail :') They came out sooooo good!
I know you saw these...while I was taking them and after when the guy pulled them up on the computer, but I thought I'd refresh your memory! The watermarks are kinda throwin me off, butttt you get the point. When did I grow up?! Antyways, holla when you have time!!
Smooches,
NiaaaaaaMilbahhhhhhLewissssss 

Saturday, June 23, 2012

Through the Wire

Nia Bee-ah Bo-bee-ah, banana fanna fo-fiya, fi-fi-mo-mia, Nia!

I miss you and I'm so very sorry about my lack of posts. This past week has been insane. I mean, INSANE. I've just been so busy having fun and dealing with the trials and tribulations of adulthood that I just haven't had the time to post. I won't let it happen again. Promise.

So here's the scoop. Let's take it day by day.

Monday: Monday was pretty busy for me. I made lots of copies of things. Remade some copies that I swear I made before. Packed my boss's office because she's leaving the organization for Ohio :( She will be missed. Ran errands, the usual. Came home, went straight to class. Had sushi from the sushi bar next to my apartment and I think I had ice cream at Thomas Sweet after but don't hold me to it. The days start to blur together because they are so jam packed.

This is the sushi... freshly made...

This is the ice cream/froyo... so it did happen!


Tuesday: For some odd reason I was feeling extremely emotional on Tuesday. More than the usual crying at the drop of a hat. I think I was worried because I had a conversation with one of my roommates about her internship duties and it sounded like she was doing more important things than making copies all day. I'm grateful to have something to do and be able to live here and work but I will admit that I was expecting a little bit more. Something that might utilize the Associates Degree from Oxford that I have or the Bachelor's Degree from Emory that I'm about to receive. Anyway, I was asked to do something tedious on Tuesday and ended up going into my office, closing the door, and crying. Never would I have thought that doing something too easy would bother me but it did. I couldn't stand the idea of making copies for the rest of the summer. It may seem like I'm overreacting but that mindless work can eat you alive. Plus, at my internship last summer I touched the copier once.

I pushed through the tears thanks to some good old gospel music. Luckily after lunch I spoke to another supervisor about the lovely "internship contract" that the program has us draft. The contract outlines the employee's and employer's expectations and facilitates a conversation between the two entities to ensure that those ideals are clear. My primary supervisor had been on vacay for a while so that afternoon, after my private meltdown, we drafted up some ideas and I finally felt like I would have more direction for the summer. It felt good!

Later that night, in lieu of class we had a speaker from the Heritage Foundation which is an "American conservative think tank"... I kid you not. You know I'm very liberal but I have several conservative friends so I can generally stomach criticisms about democratic policy and Obama-bashing. However, this guy was just too much. Long story made short: his data was skewed and probably incorrect, he gave vague responses to critiques, and he knew very little about the basic principles of economics. For example, he suggested we cut government spending and we give large corporations a tax break, but I wonder how we will reduce the deficit. Some people called him out on it and he just hemmed and hawed. All in all, I was sorely disappointed that our program chose to have him come and speak but most of my cohorts agreed with him. Oh yes, by the way, I'm surrounded by conservatives-- again. Statesboro all over again. I'm trying to take the high road and say that the experience is opening up my eyes to different views. And it is. At least these conservatives aren't only conservative because of their religious zeal, racism against Obama, or tea-party idealism.
This guy....

Wednesday: On Wednesday I found myself making more copies and thinking to myself, "didn't I just sign a contract explicitly stating my demands for the summer?" Then I remembered that I'm an intern, I'm not getting paid, sucked up my tears, called it professional development and moved on. God must have loved my new, positive outlook on life because not more than an hour later did I get my first big task! I was assigned to create a project plan for developing an alumni network for our program. It was pretty fabulous having something engaging to do rather than something mind-numbing. I also fetched cupcakes for a going away party for the boss that's leaving. Did you know they have cupcake trucks in DC, that just drive around and stop in random places so you can buy delicious, expensive, gourmet sweets? It's the best idea ever and my office orders them frequently. There are other food trucks too-- kebabs, mac n' cheese, Korean food, sandwiches, but I think we both know cupcakes reign supreme.

After leaving work I went to Mellow Mushroom in a DC neighborhood called Adams Morgan for an Emory Young Alumni event. I walked 30 minutes which was stupid. On a nice day it would have been lovely but since it was almost 100 degrees and so humid that I almost swam there it was the worst choice I made all week. My dress was completely soaked through by the time I arrived. Fortunately I was able to duck into a Smoothie King next door for a Pina Colada smoothie (delicious) and to cool off and recoup before the event began. I had to laugh because the guy handed me tall stack of paper towels when he handed me my drink. I was very thankful and happily used them to sop up the excess sweat. By the time I was back to normal I was starving.

Thankfully, there was free pizza and a cash bar on the rooftop for alumni guests only. It was such a pleasant experience and a good use of a free Wednesday evening. I didn't know most of the alumni because I've yet to graduate but I took advantage of a networking opportunity and left with two business cards and belly full of Kosmic Karma! I also saw a classmate from Oxford who graduated this May and a classmate from Emory who is graduating with me next May. I also met my Emory classmate's friends at another restaurant nearby afterwards. I didn't plan on staying long but we all clicked so much! We exchanged contact info so hopefully that won't be my last time seeing them. I was having such a good time talking and eating that I didn't take out my camera once-- for the alumni event or the new friends. I can't believe it. It might as well have not even happened. I only have my memories to keep me warm at night :P

Thursday: I knew Thursday was going to be ROUGH because I got in so late from the Mellow Mushroom event. Of course, I had to do my nightly manicure, shower, and night routine. I didn't climb into bed until almost 2AM and had to be up at 6AM for mentor breakfast. Thursday morning was ugly. I couldn't even get my contact lenses in so I wore my glasses and a cool dress for the 100 degree weather. I took the metro for the first time during rush hour which wasn't bad and enjoyed the breakfast thoroughly. Once again, no pictures even though I had my camera. *Sigh* Fortunately, I am contractually obligated, and interested on my own volition, to see my mentor at least two more times this summer. She invited me to her office and we might see a monument together. She works for National Geographic which is awesome because I had no idea it's one big non-profit organization. It should be the beginning of an interesting relationship.

Following the breakfast I trucked it to the DC Public Schools Board Office to observe a principal training session for my organization. It was great because I got to hear some  of the success stories for the organization! It made the endless copying I did seem less insignificant. It also included a free lunch which is always great!
Changing the world, one child at a time, DC's future principals.

After that I returned to the office for a little before heading home. I also ate two cupcakes. I had a cookies and cream at work and then took a red velvet to go but it didn't even make it in my apartment. I'm telling you Nia, cupcake trucks... choose Howard. DC is great. I'm eating a lot here but I move around so much that my clothes are actually more loose. You can't go wrong. YAY for public transportation and walking!

Friday: The last day of the week isn't supposed to be lame but it almost shaped up to be so for me. Work was quick-- I came in at 11AM and left at 3PM. What I was looking forward to were my plans for after work. I scheduled dinner with an associate/colleague/someone-who-doesn't-quite-deserve-the-title-of-friend to get dinner way earlier in the week. We settled on Friday evening but we couldn't decide on a place. Mostly because I didn't like the food from the place that was originally suggested by said associate. I suppose said associate figured that the rejection meant I didn't want to go out at all because said associate never suggested anything else. This couldn't be farther from the truth. I love trying new restaurants and I was looking forward to another networking opportunity. My motto for the summer and the rest of my professional life is "Get Sh!t Done" so I took the initiative to "get sh!t done" and to reach out again and suggest a different place. Success. We said we would "play" the meeting time "by ear" and confirm later in the day.

After work I popped into H&M with the other intern to buy a pencil skirt for work and after we were done I texted said associate and suggested a time. No response. I allowed an hour to pass. No response. Resent message. No response. An hour before suggested time, two hours before the first text message, I told said associate that I needed to know if I ought to head over or go out with my other friends who had also proposed something. No response.

I'm glad I was with my co-worker, I'm glad she planned on meeting some college friends at the same time, and I'm glad she invited me out earlier that morning because, Nia, I think I got stood up. Mid-way my dinner with the girls said associate texted me an excuse and said "reschedule?" I did not respond and still have not responded, just like said associate. I play no games.

Crab cake sandwich. It was so good.

Saturday: I went to the White House! It was both lame and cool at the same time. It sucked because you can't bring in a camera and you can't even take pictures with your cell phone inside. The only proof I have of my being there is below.  The amazing part is that it's the White House and Barack Obama was probably somewhere roaming those halls.

After the White House visit there was a BBQ for the interns and alumni of my program to raise money for a deserving education/literacy non-profit in the DC area that I get to decide (with 6 other people). The BBQ was fun but it was hot and I think the veggie burger I ate gave me tummy troubles. Still, I'm glad I went. I thoroughly enjoyed it!



What a week, huh? Told you so. Lots of ups and downs but I'm trying to stay in the moment and focus on the right now instead of the intangible future and the long-gone past. Right now, things are grand-- as they always should be.

Love you, pookie! What is up? What is up?

imani

p.s. I think it would be fun to go into pandora, spotify, itunes, etc. and hit shuffle and then use the title of whatever song comes on as the title for our upcoming blog posts. Got some old-school Kanye for you. Y'all don't know nothing about that.

Saturday, June 16, 2012

Uneventful, Yet Productive Days..Like Today!

Welll hello there Man-Man!

Today was pretty boring...nothing special. Just an ordinary day. Mommy went and took her test - keep her in your prayers - and I stayed at home and did absolutely nothing. Literally. I wasn't even on Facebook or Twitter...not even Tumblr! I was just laying in my bed listening to music sleeping a little bit here and a little bit there. By the time I got up and took a shower it was like 4 something and Mommy was on her way home. I vaguely remember her mentioning something about cleaning my room but then Taylor wanted to go get a tattoo and I didn't wanna miss out on seeing that so I went with her around (she never did end up getting a tattoo) and we went to El Somb. Muy delicioso! Then I came home and actually did what I was supposed to do! I cleaned my room! I mean really cleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnneeeeeeeedddddddd it. Not just straightening up or tucking things away; I sorted through my things....threw a lot of stuff out and now my room looks GREAT. I should've taken a before/after picture.  But my desk looks VERY neat now...I'll snap a few photos now! It looks like you're having an amazing time in DC and I'm so glad to hear that you're adjusting well. The people in your pictures even look friendly! If I haven't said it already, I want you to know how proud I am of you!! I'm past the point of jealousy when I have to answer to people that ask me what I'm doing for the Summer which is usually followed by "Oh what's Imani up to?". Instead of being a grouch I say with a smile on my face that you're interning in Washington, D.C. It's a pretty big deal and a great opportunity. I hope you're being safe and not talking to too many strangers! I cannot wait for Mommy to be done with teaching Summer School so we can scoot on up to Myrtle Beach! I am BEYOND excited.

Noooo big deal just able to really SEE my desk for the first time in ages. And I finally have my sculpture somewhere where it isn't in the way and people can still see it. *pats self on back*

I really didn't think that I'd accumulated this much headwear - 7 bows and 2 ear warmers - since 6th grade! And 2 or three are missing :o) When I have to retire my pom poms and bows I think I just might die! I am SO excited to start preparing for  Football Season 2012, which I know you care very little about, but you know how near and dear to my heart Cheerlading is!<3


My newest piece of artwork in my room! I love having time on my hands like this during the Summer to paint as much as I want! Since both of my AP classes are 2nd Semester, they're holding out until November to give us our assignments. Can you believe that?! I wanted to go ahead and get them over with...oh well!

Ohhhhhhh I ALMOST forgot to mention, I went to the doctor for my physical on Thursday and I was expecting just a series of questions and a usual checkup and guess what I got?! >:(
A SHOT!!! I could've judo chopped somebody in the throat when she said I was due for one! It seems like every time I go to the doctor they tell me I need some kind of vaccine! On the upside, I got a sticker out of it! I must say, I'm workin' dat Shrek band-aid though.

Back to you, I didn't know that those rooftop socials were real! You see them on TV, but I never really put together in my head that they actually happen! That's so neat! And those snacks looked mighty scrumptious! And that grey dress....lookin GOOD! Antyways, I think I've caught you up on everything. Bear with me when it takes me forevs to blog back...I don't have a life, but I like to make it seem that way ;)
Catchyalata' - Nia

Thursday, June 14, 2012

Hola, Nia!

It is with very little exaggeration that I proclaim the difficulty I'm having keeping my eyes open. I haven't been this tired from working since I was paid to pretend to be an angel and flounce around in a $1,000 ball gown to keep customers happy at that trade show. I have the weirdest jobs don't I?

I have survived two full days at work. You should be proud of me.

Yesterday was an absolute whirlwind. The organization I'm interning for had a rooftop party to congratulate the "graduates" of one of their educational initiatives. The other intern and I hit the ground running that morning, going through training sessions, studying talking points for the soiree, and finally setting up the party with the help of our other co-workers. It was an exhausting first day but worth it in every possible way. Everyone within the office is incredibly kind and helpful. The programming that the organization puts on is fabulous and it was so nice to hear more about the impact they are making on DC schools and gain a better understanding of the mission. I was also able to do some light networking and even got a business card from a recruiting officer for another organization when I told them that I'm graduating next year and looking to take some time off. Looks like a return to DC might be on the horizon!

Excuse the shiny fore fivehead





I spy the Washington Monument... can you find it?

Today was a lot more low key but still quite busy. My day involved a lot of errands and I ended up skipping lunch while noshing at my desk for most of the day on the left over fruit and cheese platter from the party. It wasn't a bad option and saved money too. While I have yet to be assigned a big project for the next two months, I'm confident that my time will be well spent.

One the way home today I couldn't stop thinking about how wonderful a time I am having, how much I love my job, how I love the other interns I've met, how I love the fact that so many people who live in DC permanently are reaching out to support me, and how much I love this opportunity. I even got an email from Representative John Lewis and I managed to get a meeting with him! I was so hesitant to come here but things are really looking up.
Legs up on the bus after a long day

I hope all is well with you. Is it almost time for the kiddie cheer camp? What's up?

Love ya lots!

Imani 

Monday, June 11, 2012

Oh My, Darlin'!

IMANI! 


Leaving you at the airport this morning with no hugs/kisses/real goodbye was absolutely horrible! I know it tore Mommy to pieces and believe it or not, it did me in too!! A B+ aint so bad, but the mildew and roach...I can't deal. However, that's going to be your environment for the next 2 months so don't let it bother you too much. Emory has definitely spoiled you in more ways than one; I'm sure things could be worse, just enjoy everything while you can. I envy you so! DC should be a lot of fun - I know you're there for work, but it won't hurt to play a little too! This week I have cheerleading business to tend to. I will also be nursing myself back to health - yes, I'm under the weather, nothing too serious just a few aches and pains...a little nausea here & there. It's raining SO much here. Everytime the sun comes out, less than an hour later it starts pouring down again. The power went out at Wal Mart and at the traffic lights in town and at some of the food restaurants. Good thing I'm cooped up on the couch cause I do NOT like storms. This week, I am also making it my mission to pick out a phone. I am DETERMINED to find a reasonably priced smartphone with all of the features that I need and something that will hopefully last me two years! I am so excited to upgrade, but the search for the right phone is the part that I despise. I might be able to convince Mommy to let me go into the Verizon store sometime this week and let me play around with a couple of their devices to see what I like. I just worry that I'll get something and then days later it goes on sale or something better comes out. There's always that risk, of course, but still. And I've pretty much marked getting an iPhone off of the list of possibilities. I really like the Droid devices and the HTC's too. The Htc Rezound is my favorite phone, by far; it also happens to be the most expensive. I need something good though since it'll need to survive my Freshman year of college as well as my Senior year of high school! When I do pick out a phone and have it shipped and all, I'll post a picture of it on here - it'll be like a surprise for you. Not that you should really care all that much. Anywho, it'll be a pretty stress-free week besides the phone shenanigans. I'm so hungry, but my stomach isn't feelin it; I hate that. Speaking of food...I bet the selection there is INSANE! I would've liked to see what that chicken philly looked like, but I'm sure there will be tons more pictures of your cuisine! I bet Georgetown is gorgeous....I'll make my way to Washington, District of Columbia sooner or later....sooner rather than later. I'm anxious to see more photographs! That's all for now. Xoxo - Nia

Sunday, June 10, 2012

Digging the District

Hey Nia!

Finally, I am in DC. It feels so weird and surreal to be here, to live here. I can't believe I'll be expected to cook, clean, work, and survive in this fabulous city. Will it eat me alive? I've been more nervous about this trip than I've ever been about any trip I've gone on. It's kind of a "make or break it" since I've been talking about living in DC for such a long time. 

Still, it was hard to take the plunge. Leaving you and Mommy at the airport this morning without real hugs or good-byes didn't help much either. Nevertheless, I swallowed my tears and pushed on-- and yes, I almost cried, yes, I am a baby but I seriously do love y'all.

Overall, it's not to bad. I'd give the whole experience a B+ right now. My roommates are really nice! I'm still missing one but I'm sure I'll love her, as she goes to school near Emory at Agnes Scott-- Atlanta bonding! The Georgetown campus is gorgeous and big. The DC weather is hot and humid but beautiful. The food is yummy too! I had Z-Burger tonight. I thought about getting a turkey burger but I went with the chicken philly. It was great. Sorry, I don't have a picture because I left my camera! I took a few pictures in the airport,on the plane, in my apartment, and at an ice cream social, though. More to come, for sure. My roommate, my coworker, my coworker's roommate, and I are going to "dry run" our internship sites tomorrow. We will likely get lost and an adventure will ensue. Naturally, there will be more exciting news, more DC sights, and most importantly, more photos. I put my spare battery in my bag!

Anyway, I suppose I ought to explain the B+. The thing that keeps this whole experience from being A+ is the apartment I'm staying in. Henle Village is very lackluster. I got out of the shower this afternoon and notice and mildewed q-tip in the corner, there was a roach in my roommate's closet, and my mattress looks like a rabid cat tore it apart. I even had to alter the shower curtains. Is this how all DC college students live; has Emory just spoiled me? The whole place needs a renovation ASAP but I'll have to call it home for now. I'll make it work with a little love and elbow grease. 

I digress. Nia, what are you doing this week?


The Potomac?
Damn cats

The notorious shower curtains...

socializing with sweets-- see how the apartments look inconspicuous from the outside?


Kisses and cuddles,
Imani

Testing, Testing, 1.2.3.....4.5.6.7.8.9.10

Holaaaaaaaaaaa! First post to the blog; kind of exciting. 
I miss you. I get so used to having somebody to argue with and then 5 minutes later you take off! Always goin places and doing things, you live quite an exciting life! Can't wait to see some amazing pictures taken on your amazing camera. Be adventurous! Love ya. Laterrrrr. 


P.s. - I used the Georgia font because I'm in Georgia; too bad they don't have a DC font :o)


-Nia

Contributors